Hi, my name is Chris, I am a clinical social worker with almost 20 years of experience working in hospitals, the Australian Defence Force and Private Practice. I have almost 20 years experience in individual, relationship counselling, parenting consultations and family therapy.

I completed my first degree a Bachelor of Social Work in 2001 and my Masters of Applied Positive Psychology in 2019. Both degrees have a strong focus on working with clients around their strengths, values and improving overall well being. Having worked in hospitals and health care I have a strong interest in health counselling, working with people towards building a sustainable healthy lifestyle through improving sleep, reducing stress, reliance on alcohol and drugs and managing pain.

Having worked with military and emergency services personnel for over 12 years I have extensive experience in the assessment and treatment of trauma, challenges associated with a FIFO lifestyle and work-related stress on individuals, couples and families.  I also have extensive experience in working with nursing, allied health and medical staff and their families, particularly post occupational trauma.

Most recently in private practice I have been working with couples to better their communication skills and work though issues like infidelity, mismatched libido and differences in parenting. I also has experience in and enjoys working with people around sexual and reproductive health. Having worked at Hobart Perinatal Psychology Clinic Chris has experience in and enjoys working with mums and dads both during pregnancy and after bringing baby home. I also has experience providing support to individuals and couples undergoing fertility treatment and surrogacy.

I really enjoy working with children, young people and their parents from a neuro-biological approach in conjunction with play therapy. I believe in working with parents and kids as a team to make positive changes at home and at school. I have experience in working with children in out of home care, children with generalised anxiety and behavioural issues.

I volunteer as a mental health adviser to Misha’s Mates, an assistance dog service for the veteran and emergency service community. Through my volunteer work I developed in interest in animal assisted therapy and after 12 months of intensive training Charlie, my three-year-old Labrador and I are excited to offer animal assisted therapy to both kids and adults.

I am warm, nonjudgmental in my approach and welcome of clients from LGBTQIA+ backgrounds. While I believe that creating a safe place for clients to share their stories is a must, I also think a healthy dose of humor can be helpful when navigating life’s challenges.

Show all timings
  • Monday09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Tuesday09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday09:00 AM - 05:00 PM

February, 2024

21

Thursday

    Closed Now

August 26,2019

  • Tuesday
  • 9:00am - 10:00am
  • chrishannan
Appointment confirmation email will be sent upon approval.

Awesome Job!

We have received your appointment and will send you a confirmation to your provided email upon approval.

You agree & accept our Terms & Conditions for posting this information?.

Your request has been submitted successfully.

building Own or work here? Claim Now! Claim Now!
image